Tags

, , , , , , ,

One of the good things to come out of this year is that I seem to have finally recovered my enthusiasm for pleasure reading. Eight years of college education as a humanities/social sciences major meant that pretty much ALL my homework was reading, and consequently reading in my spare time was decidedly unappealing.

Then comes 2016 and two hours a day spent on the train for my commute. That’ll do it for anyone. I’m also getting good at napping on the train. Useful skills and all that.

Anyway, I joined Goodreads back in the spring, mostly to encourage the early glimmerings of this recovery, and according to it, I’ve read over 60 books this year. Not too shabby. And for once it looks like I’ve got a chance of actually finishing all the ARCs on my shelf before the next conference. Six books and one month to go.

So here I present, in no particular order, my top ten of the sixty-plus books I read this year.

  • The Golem and the Jinni, by Helene Wecker
  • Euphoria, by Lily King
  • The Queen of Blood, by Sarah Beth Durst
  • Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge, by Paul Krueger
  • Je Suis La, by Clelie Avit
  • The World Before Us, by Aislinn Hunter
  • Bookburners, by Max Gladstone, et al.
  • Arcadia, by Iain Pears
  • Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things, by Jenny Lawson
  • The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II, by Denise Kiernan

I heartily recommend them all. Go forth and read. What were some of your favorites of those you read this year? They don’t need to be new publications to count. Leave your comments below!

 

