Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve posted this elsewhere, but I’m going to post it again here, because, well, I feel like it.

I am feeling extremely cynical and crabby about the cancellation of Community. I’m actually not particularly a fan of the show (I watched a season and a half, it was vaguely amusing, but I felt no need to continue watching). What’s got me cranky is all the wailing coming from Community fans – they keep saying things like “Now I know how it feels to be a Browncoat.” No. No, you don’t.

Community got cancelled after five seasons, which is longer than your average show runs. Yes, it was on the renewal bubble basically every year and it was chronically low-rated, even though critically-acclaimed. Yes, you wish it had run longer.

But you got five full seasons. Firefly got cancelled midway through its first season, leaving all the storylines in midair, and the episodes that DID run ran out of order. The film “Serenity,” released three years later, mostly serves as an attempt at wrapping up those stories begun in the 11 episodes that got to air and the three that only appear on the dvds.

Community fans, you got five seasons. Your show got cancelled. Suck it up.

End rant.