Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I can’t explain why, but today as I was hanging my laundry on the line, this song popped into my head:

I haven’t thought about this song in ages! It used to be that I could do most of Stephen Sondheim’s “Into the Woods” by heart, and I still know most of the words to “On the Steps of the Palace” if I stop to think about it.

Just wanted to share a fun song performed by the lovely Kim Crosby, who originated the Cinderella role on Broadway back in the early 90s. I don’t have anything particularly insightful to say about it, just that it was always one of my favorites of the show and often gets overlooked in favor of more popular songs in “Into the Woods.” There’s the title song, of course, but more frequently I notice people breaking into impromptu performances of “Agony” (either rendition) or “Children Will Listen.”

SUCH a good show. Sondheim’s a genius, but we all knew that. If you haven’t seen “Into the Woods” go to netflix, your local library, or your local musical theater geek and ask to borrow their dvd of the performance starring Kim Crosby, Bernadette Peters, Joanna Gleason, Chip Zien, and Robert Westenburg. Do it because it’s awesome, and because the proposed 2014 film starring such big names as Johnny Depp, Christine Baranski, and Meryl Streep have a hell of a lot to live up to… though I will say the prospect of Jake Gyllenhaal and Chris Pine as the princes already makes me giggle with glee.