Tags

,

And, as per usual, the movies I’ve seen are the ones that don’t win big.  Maybe that should be my indicator in future years.

I was surprised not to see any acting nominations for GLEE this time around, not to mention almost no presence of TWO AND A HALF MEN, MIKE AND MOLLY, or HOUSE, all repeat offenders from previous years, not to mention a single, solitary nomination for THE BIG BANG THEORY.  Furthermore, I’m annoyed with the HFPA for continuing to ignore such popular shows as CASTLE and the various incarnations of CSI and LAW & ORDER.  And I’m even more annoyed that once again, the women of THE BIG BANG THEORY have gotten no love.  Melissa Rauch and Mayim Bialik repeatedly steal the show, from Melissa Rauch’s increasingly funny/disturbing transformation into a younger version of Howard’s mother to Mayim Bialik’s side-splitting and poignant portrayal of the brilliant and eccentric Amy Farrah Fowler.  It’s great that Johnny Galecki finally got a nod, but really, I think he’s one of the least interesting actors of the bunch.  How is it that the actors playing Raj and Howard haven’t gotten nominated? Sigh. This is one of those “If I ruled the world” moments, I guess.

Things I clearly ought to see, based on tonight’s awards:

THE ARTIST

A DANGEROUS METHOD

THE DESCENDANTS

MILDRED PIERCE

MY WEEK WITH MARILYN

GAME OF THRONES

HOMELAND

IRON LADY

EPISODES

MODERN FAMILY