Tags

I went to a local store today, a branch of a chain that buys and sells new and used media – books, music, movies.  This branch happens to be closing, so things were on sale and I thought I’d make a pass through it to see if I could find some things I’ve wanted.  I did end up buying three DVDs and a book, all things I know I like.

Recently I’ve watched a lot of police dramas.  I went all House M.D.-intensive during finals, as the level of snark was very satisfying. I know it’s not actually a police drama, but it’s been described as a medical equivalent – find the culprit, follow all the leads, that kind of thing. It’s certainly different from Grey’s Anatomy and the other Shonda Rhimes medical dramas, which are decidedly soapy.  I re-watch episodes of Castle frequently, and I’ve been exploring Body of Proof and various incarnations of Law & Order.  This is related to the previous paragraph, I promise.

In police shows, especially those that deal with a murder, the victim’s possessions say something about them. One of the results of watching these shows so intensely is that I occasionally find myself stepping back to coolly consider the things I’m carrying with me.  Today, as I left the local Whole Foods market parking lot, I looked down at my bag from the media store and wondered what that particular collection of four objects might tell someone who doesn’t know me.

The book I got is Larry Gonick’s Cartoon History of the Universe, Part III.  I grew up reading parts 1 and 2 repeatedly, loving the quirky take on the story of the world.  I admit, most of the jokes flew miles over my head. The DVDs are Top Hat, one of the most popular Fred & Ginger films, Life of Mammals, a documentary hosted by David Attenborough, and Finding Nemo, which I just plain love.

I guess what these purchases say about me is that I’m a history-loving nerd with a quirky sense of humor.

I can live with that.